Our Mission

Greenways for Nashville’s mission is to create, preserve, and promote a system of greenways in Nashville and Davidson County. We advocate preservation and protection of natural and cultural areas; development of community recreational opportunities; and acquisition of land for preservation as greenways and parks.

How Does Greenways For Nashville Help?

GfN supports the initiative of the Metro Parks Department and the Greenways Commission, leveraging public and private funds; building trails and enhancements, and preserving land. We are a 501(c)3 non-profit organization founded in 1994. To date, GfN has assisted in developing a significant trail footprint of 86 miles, acquiring over 4,266 acres for conservation and protecting 11,000 acres of land. In addition to fundraising, we educate citizens about Nashville’s greenways and provide opportunities for community involvement.

How We Started

Nashville’s greenways initiative began in 1991, when Mayor Phil Bredesen and the Metro Council created the Greenways Commission as a division of Metro Parks to plan and develop a greenway system of trails and open spaces throughout Davidson County. Members of the Commission and Nashville citizens established Greenways for Nashville in 1994 to give the general public a way to support development of the greenways system.

GFN Board of Directors

Robert Brandt, Trauger & Tuke Kelly Brockman, Metro Public Works
Berry Brooks, First Farmers and Merchants Bank Martha Cooper, Community Volunteer
Brian Copeland, Village Real Estate Natasha Deane, Community Volunteer
Mark Deutschmann, President, Village Real Estate Sandra Duncan, Community Volunteer
 Jim Forkum, Former Metro Council Member Marie Griffin, Vanderbilt University
Jacob Kassinger, Young Leader Intern, First Citizens Bank Sharon Kipp, Benchmark Realty
Donna Nicely, Community Volunteer John L. Norris, Norris & Norris PLC
Phil Ponder, Former Metro Council Member Ann Roberts, Community Volunteer
Kay Simmons, Community Volunteer Steve Sirls, Community Volunteer
Charles Sueing, Sueing Insurance Agency Ann Tidwell, Vice-President, Community Volunteer
Patricia Totty, Community Volunteer  Pete Wooten, Treasurer, Pinnacle Financial Partners
 Jennifer Westerholm, SecretaryDivision of Sustainability   Lyndsay Wilkinson, Youth Villages

Ex Officio

Monique Odom, Interim Director Metro Parks and Recreation

Cindy Harrison, Metro Greenways and Open Space Comission

Subscribe To Our E-Newsletter

Subscribe To Our E-Newsletter

To sign up to receive our emails, fill in the following fields and hit subscribe, Thanks, and welcome!

You have Successfully Subscribed!